English Language Arts & Social Science

English Language Arts and Social Sciences at OSS are dedicated to nurturing the potential of all students. Our curriculum guides include many effective strategies to engage students more deeply into what they are reading (annotating, or taking notes on the text, for example), writing, and learning. Teachers guide the students through their reading and writing lessons in a way that asks probing questions about evidence, arguments, biases, and assumptions.

Because the all grade levels of English and social science are aligned to the Common Core Standards at levels of increasing difficulty, we meet as departments to discuss and analyze how our students are progressing through the levels of both English Language Arts and social sciences.

We look at assessments and sample work to ensure that students are mastering the material. We believe teaching is an ongoing process that involves thoughtful shaping and reshaping of ideas and techniques to best suit both the abilities and aspirations of all OSS students.

Department Teachers:

Steve Burden
Email: Steve.Burden@sweetwaterschools.org

John Cox
Email: John.Cox@sweetwaterschools.org

Mario Eguia
Email: Mario.EguiaJr@sweetwaterschools.org

Rene Mendoza
Email: Rene.Mendoza@sweetwaterschools.org

Robert Plunkett
Email: Robert.Plunkett@sweetwaterschools.org

Edgar Rodriguez
Email: Edgar.Rodriguez2@sweetwaterschools.org

Fredric Von Seggern
Email: Fredric.VonSeggern@sweetwaterschools.org

Lonny Wood
Email: Lonny.Wood@sweetwaterschools.org